Facebook NHAS on Facebook
Twitter   NHAS on Twitter
Discussion group   NHAS Yahoo! discussion group
Newsletter announcement group   NHAS Google announcement group
Contact us:

About Us

New Hope Audubon Society (NHAS) is the chapter of the National Audubon Society that serves Chatham, Durham, and Orange counties in central North Carolina--including Carrboro, Chapel Hill, Durham, Hillsborough, and Pittsboro.

Our Mission:

The mission of the New Hope Audubon Society is to promote the conservation and enjoyment of birds, other wildlife, and ecosystems, focusing on Chatham, Durham, and Orange counties.

Contact Us


New Hope Audubon is a volunteer organization without an office or an office phone. Please use our email address to contact us, and we will get back to you as soon as possible. You may also use our mailing address, but our response may be slower:

New Hope Audubon Society, PO Box 2693, Chapel Hill, NC, 27515.

Officers/Committee Chairs

New Hope Audubon Society (NHAS) is governed by a board of directors with duties outlined in the chapter by-laws. Officers are elected at the May membership meeting and serve through the following May. Committee and special project people are appointed by the board--volunteers are always welcome! Below is a list of current officers and committee chairs.



President: Robert "Bo" Howes
Vice President: Mark Kosiewski
Secretary: Pat Reid
Treasurer: Vern Bothwell
Director: Jim George
Director: John Kent
Director: Pam Timmons
Immediate Past President: Tom Driscoll


Committee Chairs and Special Projects

Archivist: Tommy Richey Important Bird Area, Eno River: Tom Driscoll
Bird Friendly Habitat: Jim George, Barbara Driscoll Important Bird Area, Jordan Lake: Jennifer Fenwick
Bird Seed Sale: Mary George Membership Chair: Anne Dayer
Christmas & Spring Bird Counts: Norm Budnitz Publicity Chair: Caroline Gilmore
Conservation Chair: Mark Kosiewski Newsletter Editor: Pat Reid
Eagle Count: Steve McMurray Program Chair: Mark Kosiewski
Education Chairs: Mary George, Tommy Richey Stream Watch: John Kent
Field Trip Chair: David Anderson Webmasters: Norm Budnitz, Jim George
Hospitality Chair: Jill Paul Wildlife Observation Platform: Bo Howes


If you would like to download our New Hope Audubon Society full-color brochure with beautiful drawings of feathers by Mike Skakuj, please click here.

Constitution and By-Laws

In 2011, New Hope Audubon Society updated and amended its Constitution and By-Laws. Click here for a PDF version of these documents.

Last Updated: April 18, 2016